Courses

Courses are published in the web course catalogue.

Modules do not have to be booked in the module booking tool for case studies, Bachelor’s theses, and Master’s theses.

Case Studies

Registration takes place directly with the responsible professorial chair,via OLAT, or is organized individually (instructions are provided at the respective course).

The range of courses is published in the web course catalogue and on the professorial chairs’ websites.

Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology

A case study must be written as an assessment for the Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology module as part of exercises in Civil Law I, Public Law I, or Criminal Law I. The number of participants and the group of participants may be limited for case studies.

You can find more information on the range of case studies at the assessment level in the web course catalogue.

Information on registration for the case studies (registration procedures, registration deadlines) is provided on the relevant website of the professorial chairs.

Special registration deadlines apply, which may differ from the module booking deadlines. For case studies with a restricted number of participants, candidates must register as soon as the case study is announced, since experience shows that places are rapidly booked up. Candidates are not entitled in any way to being assigned a specific case study.

Students may not register for the Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology module via the module booking tool. The successfully completed case study will be recorded by the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Law as Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology (6 ECTS credits) without students having to make any particular application.

The case studies at the assessment level may only be completed as an assessment of the Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology module. Students who have successfully completed the case study for the Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology module may not produce any additional case studies at assessment level.

Students who started a Bachelor’s degree program before fall semester 2013 may also complete the Academic Legal Writing & Legal Methodology module if they have not yet successfully completed the Legal Methodology I module. These students may not produce any additional case studies at assessment level either.

Bachelor’s Dissertations (Seminars)

Students must register for the seminars in the preceding semester. They must therefore register for a spring semester seminar in the fall semester and for a fall semester seminar in the spring semester. As a rule, Bachelor’s theses are written in the previous semester and then presented and discussed as part of a course in the following semester.

The range of courses is published in the web course catalogue and under courses.

Swiss Moot Court

The Swiss Moot Court is a competition for all students of law (pre-completion of a Master’s) at Swiss universities, where they have the opportunity to put the knowledge previously acquired into practice.

Master's Theses

There are two options for producing a Master’s thesis. First, a Master’s thesis may be agreed individually, independently of a Master's module, with the lecturer at any time; second, Master’s theses may be produced as part of a separate activity. Master’s seminars are published in good time under courses.

If credits are also to be acquired for the module in question in addition to the Master’s thesis, the official assessment for the module must also be produced. This is also the case if the assessment for the module must be produced in writing.

The Master's thesis agreement must be completed in full for each Master’s thesis.

In the event of late submissions or failure to submit a Master's thesis, a grade of 1 will be awarded and entered in the transcript of records. However, failed attempts at Master's theses are not taken into account in the calculation of the number of permissible failed attempts (equating to 30 ECTS credits at Master’s level).

Postponement or cancellation of the submission deadline for Master’s theses is only possible if imperative, unpredictable, and unavoidable reasons, particularly sickness, can be demonstrated.

Additional information is contained on the fact sheet on Master’s theses.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Die Lehrveranstaltungen sind im Web Vorlesungsverzeichnis publiziert.

Für Fallbearbeitungen, Bachelorarbeiten sowie Masterarbeiten müssen keine Module im Modulbuchungstool gebucht werden.

Fallbearbeitungen

Die Anmeldung erfolgt direkt beim zuständigen Lehrstuhl,über OLAT oder ist individuell geregelt (Hinweise finden Sie bei der jeweiligen Veranstaltung).

Das Angebot wird im Web Vorlesungsverzeichnis sowie auf den Websites der Lehrstühle publiziert.

Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre

Als Leistungsnachweis für das Modul Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre ist eine Fallbearbeitung im Rahmen der Übungen im Privatrecht I, Öffentlichen Recht I oder Strafrecht I zu verfassen. Teilnehmerzahl und Teilnehmerkreis können bei Fallbearbeitungen beschränkt werden.

Das Angebot an Fallbearbeitungen der Assessmentstufe finden Sie im Web VVZ.

Informationen zur Anmeldung für die Fallbearbeitungen (Anmeldemodalitäten, Anmeldefristen) entnehmen Sie der entsprechenden Website der Lehrstühle.

Es gelten spezielle Anmeldetermine, die von den Modulbuchungsterminen abweichen können. Bei Fallbearbeitungen mit beschränkter Teilnehmerzahl ist nach der Aufschaltung eine sofortige Anmeldung notwendig, da die Plätze erfahrungsgemäss schnell ausgebucht sind. In keinem Fall besteht ein Anspruch auf Belegung einer bestimmten Fallbearbeitung.

Eine Anmeldung für das Modul Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre ist über das Modulbuchungstool nicht möglich. Die erfolgreich absolvierte Fallbearbeitung wird vom Dekanat der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät ohne speziellen/besonderen Antrag der Studierenden als Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre eingebucht (6 ECTS Credits).

Die Fallbearbeitungen der Assessmentstufe können nur als Leistungsnachweis des Moduls Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre absolviert werden. Studierende, welche die Fallbearbeitung zum Modul Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre erfolgreich absolviert haben, dürfen keine weiteren Fallbearbeitungen in der Assessmentstufe verfassen.

Studierende, die den Bachelorstudiengang vor HS 13 begonnen haben, können das Modul Juristische Arbeitstechnik & Methodenlehre ebenfalls absolvieren, sofern das Modul Methodenlehre I noch nicht erfolgreich absolviert wurde. Auch diese Studierenden dürfen keine weiteren Fallbearbeitungen der Assessmentstufe verfassen.

Bachelorarbeiten (Seminare)

Die Anmeldung zu den Seminaren erfolgt jeweils im Vorsemester der Durchführung. Für ein Seminar des Frühjahrssemesters muss man sich daher im Herbstsemester, für ein Seminar des Herbstsemesters im Frühjahrssemester anmelden. Die Bachelorarbeiten werden in der Regel im Vorsemester geschrieben und dann im Folgesemester im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung präsentiert und besprochen.

Das Angebot wird im Web-Vorlesungsverzeichnis sowie unter Lehrveranstaltungen publiziert.

Swiss Moot Court

Der Swiss Moot Court ist ein Jus-Wettbewerb für alle Rechtsstudenten (vor Abschluss des Masters) der schweizerischen Universitäten, bei dem sie die Möglichkeit haben, ihr bis anhin angeeignetes Wissen in die Praxis umzusetzen.

Masterarbeiten

Es bestehen zwei Möglichkeiten, eine Masterarbeit zu verfassen. Zum einen kann eine Masterarbeit zu jedem Zeitpunkt und unabhängig von einem Mastermodul mit dem Dozenten oder der Dozentin individuell vereinbart werden; zum anderen können Masterarbeiten im Rahmen einer gesonderten Veranstaltung verfasst werden. Die Masterseminare werden rechtzeitig unter Lehrveranstaltungen publiziert.

Wenn neben der verfassten Masterarbeit auch die Kreditpunkte für das entsprechende Modul erworben werden sollen, muss auch noch der Leistungsnachweis für das Modul erbracht werden. Dies gilt auch dann, wenn der Leistungsnachweis für das Modul in schriftlicher Form zu erbringen ist.

Für jede Masterarbeit muss die Vereinbarung Masterarbeit vollständig ausgefüllt werden.

Eine verspätet bzw. nicht abgegebene Masterarbeit wird mit der Note 1 bewertet und erscheint im Transcript of Records. Fehlversuche bei Masterarbeiten werden bei der Berechnung der Anzahl zulässiger Fehlversuche (Umfang von 30 ECTS Credits auf Masterstufe) jedoch nicht berücksichtigt.

Eine Verschiebung oder Annullierung des Abgabetermins von Masterarbeiten ist nur möglich, wenn zwingende, unvorhersehbare und unabwendbare Gründe, insbesondere Erkrankung, nachgewiesen werden können.

Weitere Informationen sind im Merkblatt zu den Masterarbeiten enthalten.