Admission Master of Law

The Student Administration Office or Admissions Office is responsible for admission to the University of Zurich.

Please observe the general admission requirements of the University of Zurich and the special admission requirements for the Master’s study program.

At least a recognized Bachelor of Law or a university degree of equal value is required for admission to a degree at Master's level at the Faculty of Law.

Admission requirements may apply (clause 8.2 of the M Law program regulations).

Admission with a Bachelor of Law from the Faculty of Law UZH

Students with a Bachelor's degree from the Faculty of Law UZH will be admitted to the Master of Law UZH degree program, the Master of Law UZH with specialization in legal practice, and the Master of Law UZH with specialization in public law without any conditions or additional requirements. Particular admission requirements apply to the Master of Law UZH with specialization in business law.

Admission with a Bachelor of Law from a Swiss Faculty of Law

Students with a Bachelor of Law from a Swiss faculty of law will be admitted to the Master of Law UZH degree program, the Master of Law UZH with specialization in legal practice, and the Master of Law UZH with specialization in public law without any conditions or additional requirements. Particular admission requirements apply to the Master of Law UZH with specialization in business law.

Admission with a Bachelor of Law from the Brig Distance Learning University

Students with a Bachelor of Law from the Brig Distance Learning University will be admitted to the Master of Law UZH degree program, the Master of Law UZH with specialization in legal practice, and the Master of Law UZH with specialization in public law with additional requirements equating to 6 ECTS credits. Particular admission requirements apply to the Master of Law UZH with specialization in business law.

Admission with a Foreign Bachelor of Law

Graduates of a foreign Bachelor of Law or an equal degree program will be admitted to the Master of Law UZH degree program, the Master of Law UZH with specialization in legal practice, and the Master of Law UZH with specialization in public law but must complete modules from the Bachelor’s degree program of the Faculty of Law UZH equating to a maximum of 60 ECTS (cf. § 19 para. 3 of the Framework Ordinance). An admissions committee within the Faculty will decide whether individual Bachelor’s modules have to be completed on the basis of an examination of the candidate’s documents. Particular admission requirements apply to the Master of Law UZH with specialization in business law.

Non-Admission with a Bachelor’s or Master's Degree in Another Field of Study

Students with a Bachelor’s or Master's degree in another specialization are not admitted to Master's degree programs. In the event of admission to the Bachelor of Law, achievements may be credited if they are of equal value. The Student Advisory Services/Mobility Office shall decide on the transfer of credit on the basis of the Faculty of Law's guidelines for the transfer of credit.

Non-Admission with a Bachelor in Business Law from the Zurich University of Applied Sciences

Students who have acquired a Bachelor in Business Law at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) will join the Bachelor’s degree program of the Faculty of Law at the University of Zurich. They cannot join the Master’s degree program directly. Assessments from the completed Bachelor in Business Law at the ZHAW may be credited to the Bachelor of Law UZH up to a maximum of 60 ECTS credits.

Students who have not yet completed the Bachelor in Business Law at the ZHAW will only be admitted to the Bachelor of Law UZH, provided they fulfill the general admission requirements of UZH. If you have any questions regarding admission, please contact the Student Administration Office at UZH.

Zulassung Master of Law

Für die Zulassung an die Universität Zürich ist die Kanzlei bzw. die Zulassungsstelle zuständig.

Beachten Sie bitte die allgemeinen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen der Universität Zürich und die speziellen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für das Masterstudium.

Für die Aufnahme eines Studiums auf Masterstufe an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät ist mindestens ein anerkannter Bachelor of Law oder ein gleichwertiger Abschluss einer Universität notwendig.

Es können Zulassungsvoraussetzungen vorgesehen sein (Ziff. 8.2 Studienordnung M Law).

Zulassung mit Bachelor of Law der RWF UZH

Studierende mit einem Bachelorabschluss der RWF UZH werden ohne Bedingungen und Auflagen zum Studiengang Master of Law UZH, Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Rechtspraxis sowie Master of Law UZH mit Schwepunkt Öffentliches Recht zugelassen. Für den Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftsrecht gelten besondere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen.

Zulassung mit Bachelor of Law einer schweizerischen Rechtsfakultät

Studierende mit einem Bachelor of Law einer schweizerischen Rechtsfakultät werden ohne Bedingungen und Auflagen zum Studiengang Master of Law UZH, Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Rechtspraxis sowie Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Öffentliches Recht zugelassen. Für den Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftsrecht gelten besondere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen.

Zulassung mit Bachelor of Law der Fernuniversität Brig

Studierende mit einem Bachelor of Law der Fernuniversität Brig werden zum Studiengang Master of Law UZH, Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Rechtspraxis sowie Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Öffentliches Recht mit Auflagen im Umfang von 6 ECTS Credits zugelassen. Für den Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftsrecht gelten besondere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen.

Zulassung mit ausländischem Bachelor of Law

Absolventinnen und Absolventen eines ausländischen Studiengangs Bachelor of Law bzw. eines gleichwertigen Abschlusses in Rechtswissenschaften einer Universität werden zum Studiengang Master of Law UZH, Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Rechtspraxis sowie Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Öffentliches Recht zugelassen, müssen jedoch allenfalls Module aus dem Bachelorstudiengang der RWF UZH im Umfang von maximal 60 ECTS absolvieren (vgl. § 19 Abs. 3 der Rahmenverordnung). Eine innerfakultäre Zulassungskommission entscheidet aufgrund einer Prüfung «sur dossier», ob einzelne Bachelormodule nachgeholt werden müssen. Für den Master of Law UZH mit Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftsrecht gelten besondere Zulassungsvoraussetzungen.

Nicht-Zulassung mit fachfremdem Bachelor

Studierende mit einem Bachelorabschluss anderer Studienrichtung werden nicht zu den Masterstudiengängen zugelassen. Im Falle einer Zulassung zum Bachelor of Law können erbrachte Leistungen bei Gleichwertigkeit allenfalls angerechnet werden. Über die Anrechnung von Studienleistungen entscheidet die Studienberatung gestützt auf die Anrechnungsrichtlinien der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Nicht-Zulassung mit Bachelor in Wirtschaftsrecht der ZHAW

Studierende, welche den Bachelor in Wirtschaftsrecht an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) erworben haben, treten in den Bachelorstudiengang der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich (RWF UZH) ein. Ein direkter Einstieg in den Masterstudiengang ist nicht möglich. Aus dem abgeschlossenen Bachelor in Wirtschaftsrecht der ZHAW können Leistungsnachweise im Umfang von maximal 60 ECTS Credits an den Bachelor of Law UZH angerechnet werden.

Studierende, die den Bachelor in Wirtschaftsrecht an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) noch nicht abgeschlossen haben, werden nur zum Bachelor of Law UZH zugelassen, wenn sie die allgemeinen Zulassungsvorsaussetzungen der UZH erfüllen. Bitte wenden Sie sich bei Fragen zur Zulassung an die Kanzlei der UZH.