Current Projects and Activities

Research Network for Sustainable Finance

NASA

The Research Network for Sustainable Finance will conduct academic and policy-based research on issues that relate to financial market regulation and environmental and social sustainability. Related areas of research will include the governance of financial institutions and markets and their relevance to sustainability. Research projects supported will be both discipline based and interdisciplinary. The network will also facilitate applications for academic research grants and for contracts to conduct policy-based research. Guided by a research advisory panel consisting of representatives from top research universities and institutes, the network will conduct outreach with practitioner bodies in the financial sector, and with governmental and non-governmental bodies. 

Environmental Sustainability and Financial Regulation

This project represents a new research initiative to analyse how financial regulation and legal frameworks can support environmental sustainability and mitigate climate change risks. The research will address the role of bank governance, and the fiduciary duties of investors and company boards to support sustainable finance.

Research Project on Global Financial Governance and Macro-prudential Regulation

This research project analysed the implications of macro-prudential regulation and ensuing challenges when applied to the global financial markets.

Program - Meeting on Rethinking Stakeholder Participation in Global Governance (February 26-27, 2015) (PDF, 285 KB)

Global Financial Governance (Early Draft, February 2015) (PDF, 280 KB)

Link to Cambridge Press

UN Research Project on Basel III and Sustainability

Professor Kern Alexander is leading a research project sponsored by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the University of Cambridge analysing the Basel Capital Accord's (also known as ‘Basel III’) impact on lending for clean energy projects. Based on this analysis, the project produced a report in 2014 explaining the research findings and making recommendations for how Basel III can be modified and/or how optimal financing structures can be devised to support bank lending for environmentally sustainable projects that help achieve international climate change objectives. His research is also concerned with the macro-prudential economic effects of bank capital regulation on certain areas of sustainable finance.

Link to CISL

Link to Report

Aktuelle Projekte und Aktivitäten

Research Network for Sustainable Finance

NASA

Das  Research Network for Sustainable Finance führt akademische und politikbasierte Forschung zu Fragen der Finanzmarktregulierung sowie der ökologischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeit durch. Verwandte Forschungsbereiche umfassen die Governance von Finanzinstituten und -märkten sowie deren Relevanz für die Nachhaltigkeit. Die geförderten Forschungsprojekte werden sowohl fachbezogen als auch interdisziplinär sein. Das Netzwerk wird auch die Beantragung von Forschungsstipendien und Verträgen für die Durchführung politikbasierter Forschung erleichtern. Das Netzwerk wird von einem Forschungsbeirat geleitet, der sich aus Vertretern führender Forschungsuniversitäten und -institute zusammensetzt. Es wird Kontakte zur Finanzbranche knüpfen sowie zu staatlichen und nichtstaatlichen Stellen herstellen.

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit und Finanzregelung

Dieses Projekt stellt eine neue Forschungsinitiative dar, um zu analysieren, wie Finanzvorschriften und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit unterstützen und die Risiken des Klimawandels mindern können. Die Studie befasst sich mit der Rolle der Bankenaufsicht und den treuhänderischen Pflichten von Anlegern und Unternehmensvorständen zur Unterstützung einer nachhaltigen Finanzierung.

Forschungsprojekt über Global Financial Governance und Makroprudentielle Regulierung

Dieses Forschungsprojekt untersuchte makroprudentielle Regulierung und die Herausforderung, diese auf den globalen Finanzmärkten anzuwenden.

Program - Meeting on Rethinking Stakeholder Participation in Global Governance (February 26-27, 2015) (PDF, 285 KB)

Global Financial Governance (Early Draft, February 2015) (PDF, 280 KB)

Link zu Cambridge Press

Realisiertes Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit der UNO zu Basel III und Nachhaltigkeit

Professor Alexander leitete ein Forschungsprojekt, welches von der United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) und der Universität Cambridge gesponsert worden ist, bei dem die Bankenregulierung "Basel III" und ihre Einflüsse auf das Vergeben von Krediten für 'clean energy' Projekte untersucht wurde. 2014 wurde ein Bericht veröffentlicht, welcher die Erfahrungen und Analysemethoden vorstellt und Empfehlungen zu einer Modifikation und/oder Optimierung der Strukturen von Basel III macht, um ein kreditvergabe-freundlicheres Klima zu schaffen, welches das Erreichen der internationalen climate change Ziele ermöglicht. In seiner Forschung befasst er sich auch mit den Einflüssen der makroprudentiellen Aufsicht der Regulierungen des Bankenkapitals auf den nachhaltigen Finanzmarkt.

Link zu CISL

Link zum Report