Double Degree Master’s Programs

The Double Degree Master’s Programs are based on the structure of the Master of Law UZH and Master of Law UZH International and Comparative Law study programs. As 30 ECTS credits are recognized from the courses taught by the partner faculty, the remaining 60 ECTS credits must be earned at the University of Zurich.

As of fall semester 2021 the concentrations offered in both the German taught (i.e. Legal Practice, Business Law, Public Law) and the English taught (i.e. International Business Law, European and International Law) Double Degree Master’s programs will be discontinued and no longer available. As of fall semester 2020, a new enrollment will only be possible in the following two programs:

  • Master of Law UZH (German)
  • Master of Law UZH - General Studies (English) 

Overview of Modules from Fall Semester 2021

Information about the module offering will be provided after the corresponding concept has been approved.

Repeat Examinations

The rules for repeat examinations will be published here at a later date.

Transitional Regulations

Who is Affected?

The transitional regulations apply to students who started the Master of Law UZH Double Degree with or without a concentration before Fall Semester 2021 but who have not yet completed it or been permanently excluded, provided they have successfully completed one Master’s module at the Faculty of Law. Starting in the Fall Semester 2021, students will be transferred to the corresponding double degree Master’s program based on the new regulations. The previous modules will then no longer be offered if they are not continued in the new degree program.

Bachelor’s students who fulfill the following prerequisites as of the end of Spring Semester 2021 are also subject to the transitional provisions of the Master’s degree program:

  • At least 162 ECTS credits completed toward the Bachelor of Law UZH and
  • At least one Master’s module taken in advance at the Faculty of Law

What Needs to be Kept in Mind?

Master’s degree modules that were completed successfully before the changeover will receive credits toward the revised double degree Master’s program on the basis of the number of ECTS credits received in accordance with the provisions of the old program regulations. ECTS credits that have already been earned for Master’s modules in specialized core elective pools or compulsory modules from a double degree Master’s program with a concentration will be credited as elective modules during the transitional period. 90 ECTS credits are required for the degree, with 30 ECTS credits being recognized from the courses taught by the partner faculty.

Information about the curriculum during the transitional period will be provided after the corresponding concept has been approved.

Failed attempts taken up to and including Spring Semester 2021 will not be taken into account, provided that they have not already led to the student’s exclusion from the degree program.

Spring Semester 2020 is the last semester in which students will be able to begin study programs with a concentration.