Research

Legal research implies the methodical, deliberate, systematic analysis of law as a complex of rules that aspire to a binding nature enforceable by the state. University jurisprudence is aimed first at the analytical and systematic acquisition of the applicable law (legal doctrine). Second, it searches for academic insight that focuses on the fundamental understanding of law, the development of law, the application of law, and legal knowledge in connection with social, economic, political, and cultural change.

Freedom of Research and Guiding Principles of Research

Research at the Faculty of Law of the University of Zurich is committed to the principle of academic freedom. In accordance with the principles of academic excellence, it pursues the effective dissemination of knowledge, internationalization, and interdisciplinarity.

Research Priorities

Apart from the individual research priorities that each researcher chooses as part of their academic freedom, the Faculty of Law has stipulated the following faculty research priorities:

  • Internationalization and Europeanization of law
  • Conflict management
  • Fundamental research into legal history and legal theory
  • Business law
  • Human rights, the constitutional state, and democracy
  • Law, medicine, and health

Research and Continuing Education

Our Faculty is one of the largest faculties of law in the German-speaking area and is one of the leading faculties for research in Europe thanks to its academic breadth and excellence. It complies with the University’s social responsibility to pass on the fruits of this research to legal practice and pick up new ideas for research in contact with all the areas in which lawyers are employed. The Faculty of Law's continuing education programs comprise both areas of applied research and basic research:

The Faculty of Law’s continuing education programs

Rules of Good Academic Practice

Honesty and reliability are the basic conditions of scholarship. To safeguard these preconditions, two ombudspersons are nominated, who are called in if there are doubts about the integrity of individual studies or researchers:

The Faculty of Law's ombudspersons

Forschung

Rechtswissenschaftliche Forschung bedeutet die methodisch bewusste, systematische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Recht als einem Komplex von Regeln, die Anspruch auf hoheitlich durchsetzbare verbindliche Geltung erheben. Die universitäre Rechtswissenschaft ist einerseits auf die analytisch-systematische Erfassung des geltenden Rechts (Rechtsdogmatik) gerichtet, andererseits verfolgt sie Erkenntnisinteressen, die auf das grundlegende Verständnis von Recht, Rechtsentstehung, Rechtsanwendung und Rechtswissen im Zusammenhang mit sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, politischen und kulturellen Wandel gerichtet sind.

Freiheit der Forschung und Leitprinzipien der Forschung

Die Forschung an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich ist dem Grundsatz der Wissenschaftsfreiheit verpflichtet. Sie erfolgt nach den Prinzipien der wissenschaftlichen Exzellenz, der wirksamen Wissensvermittlung, der Internationalität und der Interdisziplinarität.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Neben den individuellen Forschungsschwerpunkten, die jeder Forschende im Rahmen seiner Wissenschaftsfreiheit für sich wählt, hat die RWF die folgenden fakultären Forschungsschwerpunkte benannt:

  • Internationalisierung und Europäisierung des Rechts
  • Konfliktregelung
  • Rechtshistorische und rechtstheoretische Grundlagenforschung
  • Wirtschaftsrecht
  • Menschenreche, Rechtsstaat und Demokratie
  • Recht, Medizin und Gesundheit

Forschung und Weiterbildung

Unsere Fakultät ist eine der grössten rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultäten im deutschsprachigen Raum und in ihrer wissenschaftlichen Breite und Exzellenz eine der forschungsstärksten Europas. Es entspricht dem gesellschaftlichen Auftrag der Universität, diese Forschungserträge auch an die juristische Praxis weiterzugeben und im Kontakt mit allen Tätigkeitsbereichen von Juristen, neue Impulse für die Forschung aufzunehmen. Die Weiterbildungsprogramme der RWF erfassen sowohl Bereiche der angewandten Forschung als auch der Grundlagenforschung:

Weiterbildungsprogramme der RWF

Regeln der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis

Aufrichtigkeit und Verlässlichkeit sind die Grundbedingungen der Wissenschaft. Zur Wahrung dieser Voraussetzungen sind zwei Vertrauenspersonen benannt, die bei Zweifeln über die Lauterbarkeit einzelner Studien oder Forschender zu Rate gezogen werden können:

Vertrauenspersonen der RWF