Visiting Professors Fall Semester 2022

Prof. Silvia Suteu

Prof. Silvia Suteu

Prof. Silvia Suteu is Associate Professor at the University College London (UCL) Faculty of Laws in the United Kingdom. She specialises in comparative constitutional law and constitutional theory, with a focus on comparative constitutional change, gender equality, and participatory constitutionalism.She has published widely on these themes and her monograph, “Eternity Clauses in Democratic Constitutionalism”, was published by Oxford University Press in 2021.
At UCL, she has convened the Public Law Group, has been an editor of the Current Legal Problems journal, and is the Gender Editor for Lex-Atlas: COVID-19, a global academic project mapping legal responses to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Prof Suteu has also done work in international humanitarian and human rights law. She has provided legal expertise on constitution-building to organisations such as Democracy Reporting International, the Euromed Feminist Initiative, International IDEA, and UN Women. She has co-authored handbooks on gender-sensitive constitutions and legislation that have been used by government and policy-making experts and women’s rights NGOs. Prof Suteu is currently developing a project on the constitutionalisation of reproductive rights in comparative perspective, which complements her previous work on gender and the law.

Prof. Lloyd Bonfield

Prof. Lloyd Bonfield

Prof. Lloyd Bonfield is a legal historian and internationally-minded law professor, who has taught in the areas of trusts and estates, property, international business transactions, European Union law, and legal history.
While still a law student, Professor Bonfield was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to pursue his doctorate at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom. After two years of study, he was elected to a fellowship at Trinity College, Cambridge, where he undertook research and taught English Legal History and Criminal Law. His Ph.D. thesis was immediately published by the Cambridge University Press, as Marriage Settlements, 1600–1740, which remains in print 30 years later.
Prior to joining the New York Law School faculty in 2008, Professor Bonfield taught at Cornell Law School and thereafter at Tulane Law School for 25 years, where he was the Thomas Andre Junior Professor of Law and Associate Dean for International Graduate Studies and International Relations. He has taught American law on a regular basis for the University of Zurich, and at universities in Tokyo (Chou), Jerusalem (Hebrew University), Siena, and Strasbourg. This aspect of his teaching interest led to the publication in 2006 of American Law and the American Legal System, a second edition was published in 2020.  He has also published a book on European Union Business Law (2018), a second edition is in progress.
Most of Professor Bonfield’s scholarship is in the area of legal history. He has edited Continuity and Change, a journal of social history, demography and the law published by Cambridge University Press for a quarter century, and prior thereto, founded Law and History Review, the journal of the American Society for Legal History, in 1980. He also published a monograph on seventeenth century testamentary litigation Devising, Dying and Dispute: Probate Litigation in Early Modern England.
He was Director of the Center for International Law, and founded and directed NYLS’s only foreign summer school in London since 2009.
In 2000, Professor Bonfield was awarded a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship and a Sumter Marks Award. He was awarded a Fulbright teaching at the Free University of Berlin, but had to decline due to the impact of Hurricane Katrina.

Gastprofessuren HS 2022

Prof. Silvia Suteu

Prof. Silvia Suteu

Prof. Silvia Suteu ist außerordentliche Professorin an der juristischen Fakultät des University College London (UCL) im Vereinigten Königreich. Sie ist spezialisiert auf vergleichendes Verfassungsrecht und Verfassungstheorie, mit Schwerpunkt auf vergleichendem Verfassungswandel, Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und partizipatorischem Konstitutionalismus. Sie hat zahlreiche Publikationen zu diesen Themen veröffentlicht und ihre Monographie "Eternity Clauses in Democratic Constitutionalism" wurde 2021 von Oxford University Press herausgegeben.
Am UCL hat sie die Public Law Group einberufen, war Redakteurin der Zeitschrift Current Legal Problems und ist Gender Editorin für Lex-Atlas: COVID-19, ein globales akademisches Projekt, das die rechtlichen Reaktionen auf die COVID-19-Pandemie erfasst.
Prof. Suteu befasst sich auch mit internationalem humanitärem Recht und Menschenrechten. Sie hat Organisationen wie Democracy Reporting International, der Euromed Feminist Initiative, International IDEA und UN Women juristisches Fachwissen zum Thema Verfassungsgebung zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie ist Mitverfasserin von Handbüchern über geschlechtersensible Verfassungen und Gesetze, die von Regierungs- und Politiksachverständigen sowie von Frauenrechts-NGOs verwendet werden. Prof. Suteu entwickelt derzeit ein Projekt über die Konstitutionalisierung reproduktiver Rechte in vergleichender Perspektive, das ihre frühere Arbeit zu Geschlecht und Recht ergänzt.

Prof. Lloyd Bonfield

Prof. Lloyd Bonfield ist Rechtshistoriker und international ausgerichteter Juraprofessor, der in den Bereichen Trusts und Nachlässe, Immobilien, internationale Geschäftstransaktionen, Recht der Europäischen Union und Rechtsgeschichte gelehrt hat.
Noch während seines Jurastudiums erhielt Professor Bonfield ein Fulbright-Stipendium, um an der University of Cambridge im Vereinigten Königreich zu promovieren. Nach zwei Jahren Studium wurde er als Stipendiat an das Trinity College in Cambridge gewählt, wo er forschte und englische Rechtsgeschichte und Strafrecht lehrte. Seine Dissertation wurde von der Cambridge University Press unter dem Titel "Marriage Settlements, 1600-1740" veröffentlicht, die auch 30 Jahre später noch im Druck ist.
Bevor er 2008 an die New York Law School kam, lehrte Professor Bonfield 25 Jahre lang an der Cornell Law School und danach an der Tulane Law School, wo er der Thomas Andre Junior Professor of Law und stellvertretender Dekan für internationale Aufbaustudien und internationale Beziehungen war. Er unterrichtete regelmäßig amerikanisches Recht an der Universität Zürich sowie an Universitäten in Tokio (Chou), Jerusalem (Hebrew University), Siena und Strasbourg. Dieser Aspekt seiner Lehrtätigkeit führte 2006 zur Veröffentlichung des Buches "American Law and the American Legal System", das 2020 in einer zweiten Auflage erschienen ist. Prof. Bonfield hat auch ein Buch über das Wirtschaftsrecht der Europäischen Union veröffentlicht (2018), eine zweite Auflage ist in Arbeit.
Der Großteil von Professor Bonfields wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten liegt auf dem Gebiet der Rechtsgeschichte. Er ist seit einem Vierteljahrhundert Herausgeber von Continuity and Change, einer Zeitschrift für Sozialgeschichte, Demografie und Recht, die von der Cambridge University Press herausgegeben wird, und gründete davor 1980 Law and History Review, die Zeitschrift der American Society for Legal History. Außerdem veröffentlichte er eine Monographie über testamentarische Streitigkeiten im siebzehnten Jahrhundert mit dem Titel "Devising, Dying and Dispute: Probate Litigation in Early Modern England".
Prof. Bonfield war Direktor des Zentrums für Internationales Recht und gründete und leitete seit 2009 die einzige ausländische Sommerschule der NYLS in London.
Im Jahr 2000 wurde Professor Bonfield mit einem John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship und einem Sumter Marks Award ausgezeichnet. Er erhielt ein Fulbright-Stipendium für einen Lehrauftrag an der Freien Universität Berlin, den er jedoch aufgrund der Auswirkungen des Hurrikans Katrina ablehnen musste.