FAQ Graduation

When must I apply to graduate?

You apply to graduate in the semester in which you plan to complete your studies.

I have applied to graduate. Which course must I enroll in for the following semester?

Students in a Bachelor’s degree program enroll for the Master’s degree program. In the event of not passing the Bachelor’s degree, students are automatically relegated to the Bachelor's degree program. The form for applying to graduate must be resubmitted in the following semester. In this respect, please comply with the  Ordinance on Admission to Studies at the University of Zurich, dated 27 August 2018 (in German only)

I would like to apply to graduate this semester but have missed the deadline. What can I do?

To apply to graduate retrospectively, you must make an application in writing to the Legal Department of the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Law, in which you justify why you were unable to comply with the deadline. The Legal Department of the Dean's Office will decide on the basis of your arguments whether you can apply late. If you have any questions concerning the request, please contact the Legal Department of the Dean's Office directly: Legal Department of the Dean's Office

Please address your letter to:

University of Zurich Faculty of Law
Legal Department of the Dean's Office
Rämistrasse 74/2
8001 Zurich
 

How exactly does the transfer of credit toward the final degree work if there are superfluous modules? Are final degrees with more than 180 ECTS credits possible in the Bachelor? And in the Master with more than 90 ECTS credits? (published 9 November 2021)

The procedure for the transfer of credit for recognized academic achievement toward the final degree is as follows:

1. Credit for academic achievement, which is required for the degree: compulsory modules, core elective modules

If more than the required modules were completed in a module group with core elective modules, the module that was completed first (if only one is required for the degree) or the modules that were completed first (if more than one core elective module in the module group is required) will be taken into account. The core elective modules that are not yet taken into account at this step are subsequently treated as equivalent to elective modules in law (see item 2).

2. Credit for further modules in law (elective modules and core elective modules not yet included in the first step)

If not all of these "further modules in law" are needed to reach the required number of ECTS credits for the final degree (Bachelor: 180, Master RWF: 90), they are considered for a transfer of credit in ascending chronological order. The decisive factor is the semester in which the modules were completed. If the most recently completed modules, of which not all can be taken into account, were completed within the same semester, students choose which of these modules are counted toward their final degree. Each of the chosen modules must be required to achieve the ECTS credits needed for the degree (see the example below).

3. Credit for modules from outside the Faculty, if applicable

Credit for modules from outside the Faculty of Law is only counted toward the degree if the modules from the Faculty are not sufficient to achieve the required ECTS credits. Again, the chronological order applies respectively the students choose (if there are  modules completed within the same semester which could be considered for a transfer of credit).

If, in this way, the credit of the modules counted toward the degree reaches a total greater than 180 ECTS credits in the Bachelor's degree or 90 ECTS credits in the Master's degree, the final degree is awarded with more than 180 ECTS credits or with more than 90 ECTS credits.

Example:

In the Master's study program Rechtswissenschaft (according to the new regulations), in addition to the compulsory modules (42 ECTS credits [including the Master's thesis]) and the required core elective modules (12 ECTS credits from the Foundations of Law module group), students must complete further modules amounting to 36 ECTS credits to reach the required 90 ECTS credits. The student Y. has completed the following academic achievement in addition to the compulsory modules:

  • 1st semester: core elective module A from the module group Foundations of Law (6 ECTS), elective module B from the Faculty of Law (6 ECTS)
  • 2nd semester: core elective modules C and D from the module group Foundations of Law (6 ECTS each), elective modules E (6 ECTS) and F (3 ECTS) from the Faculty of Law, module G from the Faculty of Philosophy (18 ECTS), module H from the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics (6 ECTS), module J from the Language Center (2 ECTS)
  • 3rd semester: elective modules K and L from the Faculty of Law (6 ECTS each)

Order of consideration for a transfer of credit toward the degree:

1. Credit of compulsory modules (42 ECTS credits)

2. Credit of core elective module A (6 ECTS credits)

3. Credit of core elective module C or D according to Y's choice. (6 ECTS credits) [In the present case, this choice is ultimately irrelevant and would therefore be omitted].

-> Intermediate total: 54 ECTS credits

-> Credit of further modules to the extent of 36 ECTS is required for the final degree.

4. Credit of further modules from the Faculty in ascending chronological order: core elective module B (6), core elective module C or D (6), core elective modules E and F (9), core elective modules K and L (12)

-> Intermediate total: 87 ECTS credits

-> Credit of further academic achievement in the amount of 3 ECTS credits is necessary for the final degree.

5. Credit of modules from outside the Faculty of Law: Since credit of all modules from the Faculty is counted toward the final degree, credit of modules form outside the Faculty is taken into account. These were all completed in the 2nd semester. The credit of module J from the Language Center (2 ECTS) alone is not sufficient to reach the 90 required ECTS credits. However, it cannot be counted together with module G or H either, since it is not required to be taken alongside one of these modules in order to reach the 90 ECTS credits. Thus, Y. has the choice between module G (18 ECTS) and module H (6 ECTS). If module G is chosen, the Master's degree will be awarded with 105 ECTS credits, if module H is chosen with 93 ECTS credits.

The modules completed at the UZH for which credit is not counted toward the final degree can be seen in the Academic Record together with the grade; they appear under the title "Academic Achievement Not Counted toward Degree".

FAQ Studienabschluss

Wann stelle ich den Antrag auf Studienabschluss?

Sie beantragen den Studienabschluss in dem Semester, in welchem Sie planen das Studium abzuschliessen.

Ich haben den Antrag auf Studienabschluss gestellt. In welchen Studiengang muss ich mich für das folgende Semester einschreiben?

Bachelorstudierende schreiben sich für den Masterstudiengang um. Stellen Sie dafür im Studierendenportal unter "Meine Anträge" einen Antrag auf "Studiengangs- und Programmwechsel". Im Falle des Nichtbestehens des Bachelorabschlusses, werden die Studierenden automatisch in den Bachelorstudiengang zurückgestuft. Das Antragsformular für den Studienabschluss muss im nächsten Semester erneut eingereicht werden.
 
Studierende, die ihr Studium beenden und kein weiteres Studium an der Universität Zürich planen, müssen bis spätestens 15. März bzw. 15. Oktober im Studierendenportal einen Antrag auf Exmatrikulation stellen. Im Falle eines Nichtbestehens des Studienabschlusses muss umgehend die Kanzlei informiert werden, um die Exmatrikulation zu stornieren, andernfalls kann der Abschluss im nächsten Semester nicht erneut beantragt werden.
 
Weitere Informationen zur Einschreibung, zu den geltenden Fristen und zu den Semestergebühren entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite der Kanzlei der Universität Zürich

Ich möchte in diesem Semester den Antrag auf Studienabschluss stellen, habe aber die Frist verpasst. Was kann ich tun?

Um nachträglich den Antrag auf Studienabschluss stellen zu können, müssen Sie ein schriftliches Gesuch an die Rechtsstelle der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät stellen, in welchem Sie begründen, warum Sie die Frist nicht einhalten konnten. Aufgrund Ihrer Begründung wird die Rechtsstelle entscheiden, ob ein verspäteter Antrag noch möglich ist. Bei Fragen zum Gesuch wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die Rechtsstelle:Rechtsstelle

Ihr Schreiben richten Sie bitte an:

Universität Zürich Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Dekanat / Rechtsstelle
Rämistrasse 74/2
8001 Zürich
 

Wie geht das genau mit der Anrechnung von Studienleistungen an den Abschluss? Sind im Bachelor auch Abschlüsse mit mehr als 180 ECTS Credits möglich? Und im Master mit mehr als 90 ECTS Credits?

Bei der Anrechnung der anerkannten Module an den Abschluss wird wie folgt vorgegangen:


1. Anrechnung aller Studienleistungen, welche für den Abschluss erforderlich sind: Pflichtmodule, Wahlpflichtmodule
Wurden in einer Modulgruppe mit Wahlpflichtmodulen mehr als die erforderlichen Module absolviert, wird das Modul berücksichtigt, welches zuerst erbracht wurde (falls nur eines für den Abschluss erforderlich ist) bzw. werden die Module berücksichtigt, die zuerst erbracht wurden (wenn mehrere Wahlpflichtmodule der Modulgruppe erforderlich sind). Die Wahlpflichtmodule, die bei diesem Schritt noch nicht berücksichtigt werden, sind anschliessend rechtswissenschaftlichen Wahlmodulen gleichgestellt (vgl. Ziffer 2).


2. Anrechnung von weiteren rechtswissenschaftlichen Modulen (Wahlmodule sowie Wahlpflichtmodule, die im 1. Schritt noch nicht berücksichtigt wurden)

Werden von diesen "weiteren rechtswissenschaftlichen Modulen" nicht alle gebraucht, um die für den Abschluss nötige Anzahl ECTS Credits zu erreichen (Bachelor: 180, Master RWF: 90), erfolgt die Anrechnung ebenfalls in chronologisch aufsteigender Reihenfolge, wobei ausschlaggebend ist, in welchem Semester die Studienleistung erbracht wurde. Stammen die zuletzt absolvierten Module, von welchen nicht alle angerechnet werden können, aus demselben Semester, können die Studierenden wählen, welche(s) dieser Module an den Abschluss angerechnet werden/wird. Für die Anrechnung muss jedes der gewählten Module erforderlich sein, um die für den Abschluss vorausgesetzten ECTS Credits zu erreichen (vgl. im Beispiel unten).


3. Allfällige Anrechnung von ausserfakultären Modulen
Ausserfakultäre Module werden nur an den Abschluss angerechnet, wenn die fakultären Module nicht ausreichen, um den für den Abschluss vorausgesetzten Umfang von ECTS Credits zu erreichen. Die Anrechnung erfolgt auch hier in chronologisch aufsteigender Reihenfolge bzw. nach Wahl der Studierenden, wenn es um die Frage geht, welche der im selben Semester erbrachten Module angerechnet werden sollen.


Kommt es auf diese Weise dazu, dass die anzurechnenden Module insgesamt einen grösseren Umfang erreichen als 180 ECTS Credits im Bachelor bzw. 90 ECTS Credits im Master, erfolgt der Abschluss mit über 180 bzw. mit über 90 ECTS Credits.


Beispiel:
Im RWF-Master sind (gemäss neuer Ordnung) neben den Pflichtmodulen (42 ECTS Credits [inkl. Masterarbeit]) und erforderlichen Wahlpflichtmodulen (12 ECTS Credits aus der Modulgruppe Grundlagen) weitere Studienleistungen im Umfang von 36 ECTS Credits zu erbringen, um auf die geforderten 90 ECTS Credits zu kommen. Die/Der Studierende Y. hat neben den Pflichtmodulen folgende Studienleistungen erbracht:

  • 1. Semester: Wahlpflichtmodul A aus der Modulgruppe Grundlagen (6 ECTS), RWF-Wahlmodul B (6 ECTS)
  • 2. Semester: Wahlpflichtmodule C und D aus der Modulgruppe Grundlagen (je 6 ECTS), RWF-Wahlmodule E (6 ECTS) sowie F (3 ECTS), PHF-Modul G (18 ECTS), WWF-Modul H (6 ECTS), Modul aus dem Sprachenzentrum J (2 ECTS)
  • 3. Semester: RWF-Wahlmodule K und L (je 6 ECTS)

Anrechnungsschritte:


1. Anrechnung der Pflichtmodule (42 ECTS Credits)
2. Anrechnung von Wahlpflichtmodul A (6 ECTS Credits)
3. Anrechnung von Wahlpflichtmodul C oder D nach Wahl von Y. (6 ECTS Credits) [Vorliegend ist diese Wahl letztlich unerheblich und würde daher unterbleiben.]


-> Zwischentotal der angerechneten Studienleistungen: 54 ECTS Credits
-> Für den Abschluss ist die Anrechnung weiterer Studienleistungen im Umfang von 36 ECTS Credits erforderlich.


4. Anrechnung der weiteren fakultären Module in chronologisch aufsteigender Reihenfolge: Wahlmodul B (6), Wahlpflichtmodul C oder D (6), Wahlmodule E und F (9), Wahlmodule K und L (12)


-> Zwischentotal der angerechneten Studienleistungen: 87 ECTS Credits
-> Für den Abschluss ist die Anrechnung weiterer Studienleistungen im Umfang von 3 ECTS Credits nötig.


5. Anrechnung von ausserfakultären Modulen: Da bereits alle fakultären Module an den Abschluss angerechnet werden, kommt es zu einer Anrechnung von ausserfakultären Modulen. Diese wurden alle im 2. Semester absolviert. Die Anrechnung des Moduls J aus dem Sprachenzentrum (2 ECTS) alleine reicht nicht aus, um auf die 90 erforderlichen ECTS Credits zu kommen. Es kann aber auch nicht zusammen mit dem Modul G oder H angerechnet werden, da es neben einem von diesen Modulen nicht erforderlich ist, um die 90 ECTS Credits zu erreichen. Somit hat Y. die Wahl zwischen dem Modul G (18 ECTS) und dem Modul H (6 ECTS). Wird Modul G gewählt, erfolgt der Masterabschluss mit 105 ECTS Credits, wird Modul H gewählt mit 93 ECTS Credits.


Die UZH-Module, die nicht an den Abschluss angerechnet werden, sind im Academic Record samt Note ersichtlich; sie erscheinen unter dem Titel "Nicht an den Abschluss angerechnete Leistungen".