Doctorate

General Information

Before contacting Professor Alexander, please ensure that you have carefully read through the general information on the doctorate program provided by the Faculty of Law. You will find the above mentioned information under the following section of the homepage of the University of Zurich http://www.ius.uzh.ch/en/studies/phd.html .

Summa cum laude or magna cum laude in the Master's degree are prerequisites to be accepted by Prof. Alexander. Furthermore, students who studied abroad are required to submit two recommendation letters of Professors  who supervised and / or taught them and can comment on their ability and potential to carry out the writing of a PhD thesis.

Once you have familiarised yourself with the prerequisites, please send us an email. The email must contain the following information:

- a project description of 1-2 A4 pages

- your transcript of records and proof of graduation

- your CV.

-Two recommendation letters from former professors for graduates from a foreign university.

 

After reviewing your submitted documents, you may be invited to a meeting. Based on the meeting and the documentation, Prof. Dr. Alexander will make a preliminary decision on supervising your project.

  • The factsheets below areparticularly addressed to foreign PhD students thinking about doing a PhD at the Law Faculty of UZH. As our chair is host to many foreign PhD students, we realized that many of them encounter similar challenges on their way. The first document is a compilation made by our chair and shall provide more information and useful links on the most frequent questions (e.g. minimal requirements for application, admission process, Visa, IT-infrastructure, doctorate seminars, legals resources, etc.). Please note, our inofficial compilation shall by no means be a substitute for a sincere study of the official regulations. The second document is the (official) UZH PhD Guide in English.

Useful Information and Links for Foreign PhD Students (PDF, 128 KB)

UZH PhD Guide (English) (PDF, 3927 KB)

English Language Requirements

All students whose first language is not English must be able to provide suitable evidence that their level of English language is adequate for postgraduate study.

 

Our current English language entry requirements are:
•    International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic Version: 7.0 overall, with no less than 6.0 in any component. The qualification or test result must have been awarded no more than four years prior to the proposed date of enrolment.
•    Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) IBT: 94 overall, with no less than 21 in listening, 21 in reading, 21 in speaking and 24 in writing. The qualification or test result must have been awarded no more than four years prior to the proposed date of enrolment.
•    Trinity College London, ISE III: CEFR C1 in Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening. The qualification or test result must have been awarded no more than four years prior to the proposed date of enrolment.
 
Should you face any difficulty in securing these English language entry requirements due to the Covid-19 pandemic, please get in touch with us at lst.alexander@rwi.uzh.ch.

We will request evidence of your restrictions in securing these language requirements, and in exceptional circumstances, if you are unable to sit any of the test listed above, we will assess a piece of academic written work and conduct an interview. 

 

***

 

Exceptions:
If you have been awarded a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in law or in an equivalent social science or humanities subject from a university or accredited college in one of the countries listed below, you will not be required to submit any further evidence of English language competency:

 

• Antigua and Barbuda
• Australia
• The Bahamas
• Barbados
• Belize
• Canada
• Dominica
• Grenada
• Guyana
• Ireland
• Jamaica
• New Zealand
• St Kitts and Nevis
• St Lucia
• St Vincent and the Grenadines
• Trinidad and Tobago
• United Kingdom
• United States of America


Additionally, if you are a national of one of the above countries, and can demonstrate conversational English in an interview or with authentic written work, the English language test shall be waived.

Doktorat

Allgemeine Hinweise

Bevor Sie Herrn Prof. Dr. Alexander betreffend Betreuung Ihrer Dissertation anfragen, sollten Sie sich mit den für die Doktorpromotion relevanten Reglementen und Bestimmungen vertraut machen. Diese finden Sie auf der Website der Universität Zürich unter http://www.ius.uzh.ch/de/studies/phd.html .

Professor Alexander betreut Doktoranden/Doktorandinnen, welche beim Lizentiat oder beim Master of Law das Prädikat summa cum laude oder magna cum laude erreicht haben. Falls Sie ein Absolvent/in einer ausländischen Universität sind, möchten wir Ihnen nahelegen, ein Empfehlungsschreiben von zwei dortigen Professoren beizulegen, welche sie betreut oder unterrichtet haben und Auskunft über ihre Fähigkeiten zum Verfassen einer Dissertation geben können.

Nachdem Sie sich über die Voraussetzungen in Kenntnis gesetzt haben, nehmen Sie bitte zunächst per E-Mail mit uns Kontakt auf. Dem E-Mail ist folgendes beizulegen:

- ein Projektbeschrieb von ca. 1-2 A4-Seiten

- der Leistungsausweis (transcript of records) und Nachweis über den Studienabschluss

-der Lebenslauf

-Zwei Empfehlungsschreiben von Professoren für Absolventen einer ausländischen Universität

 

Nach Durchsicht sämtlicher Unterlagen wird gegebenenfalls ein Termin mit dem Kandidaten / der Kandidatin vereinbart. Aufgrund der Unterlagen und der Besprechung entscheidet Prof. Dr. Alexander provisorisch, ob die Betreuung der Arbeit übernommen wird.

  • Nachfolgend finden Sie eine (private) Übersicht über nützliche Links und Internetadressen sowie den (offiziellen) UZH PhD Guide in Englisch. Die Übersicht ist speziell auf ausländische Doktorierende ausgerichtet, da unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass sie sich häufig mit ähnlichen Problemen (e.g. betreffend Doktorats-Voraussetzungen, Immatrikulation, Visa, IT-Infrastruktur, Seminare, Datenbanken, etc.) konfrontiert sehen. Vielleicht enthält es aber auch für einheimische Doktorierende die eine oder andere nützliche Information. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es sich beim ersten Dokument lediglich um private Empfehlungen und Hinweise handelt und nicht um eine offizielle UZH-Richtlinie.

Useful Information and Links for Foreign PhD Students (PDF, 128 KB)

UZH PhD Guide (English) (PDF, 3927 KB)

Sprachkompetenz Englisch

Alle Studierenden, deren erste Sprache nicht Englisch ist, müssen einen geeigneten Nachweis erbringen können, dass ihre Englischkenntnisse für ein Doktroatsstudium ausreichend sind.

Unsere derzeitigen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für die englische Sprache sind:
- International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic Version: 7.0 insgesamt, mit nicht weniger als 6.0 in jeder Komponente. Die Qualifikation oder das Testergebnis darf nicht mehr als vier Jahre vor dem vorgeschlagenen Immatrikulationsdatum erteilt worden sein.
- Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) IBT: 94 insgesamt, mit nicht weniger als 21 im Hörverständnis, 21 im Lesen, 21 im Sprechen und 24 im Schreiben. Das Qualifikations- oder Testergebnis darf nicht mehr als vier Jahre vor dem vorgeschlagenen Anmeldedatum erzielt worden sein.
- Trinity College London, ISE III: CEFR C1 in Lesen, Schreiben, Sprechen und Hören. Die Qualifikation oder das Testergebnis darf nicht mehr als vier Jahre vor dem vorgeschlagenen Anmeldedatum erzielt worden sein.
 
Sollten Sie aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie Schwierigkeiten haben, diese englischsprachigen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen zu erfüllen, setzen Sie sich bitte mit uns in Verbindung (unter lst.alexander@rwi.uzh.ch).

Wir werden Sie um einen Nachweis Ihrer Einschränkungen bei der Erfüllung dieser Sprachanforderungen bitten. Sollten Sie unter außergewöhnlichen Umständen nicht in der Lage sein, an einem der oben genannten Tests teilzunehmen, werden wir eine akademische schriftliche Arbeit bewerten und ein Vorstellungsgespräch führen. 

***

Ausnahmen:
Wenn Sie einen Bachelor- oder Master-Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften oder in einem gleichwertigen sozial- oder geisteswissenschaftlichen Fach an einer Universität oder einer akkreditierten Hochschule in einem der unten aufgeführten Länder erworben haben, müssen Sie keine weiteren Nachweise über Ihre Englischkenntnisse vorlegen:

- Antigua und Barbuda
- Australien
- Die Bahamas
- Barbados
- Belize
- Kanada
- Dominica
- Grenada
- Guyana
- Irland
- Jamaika
- Neuseeland
- St. Kitts und Nevis
- St. Lucia
- St. Vincent und die Grenadinen
- Trinidad und Tobago
- Vereinigtes Königreich
- Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika


Wenn Sie Staatsangehöriger eines der oben genannten Länder sind und in einem Interview oder mit authentischen schriftlichen Arbeiten grundlegende Englischkenntnisse nachweisen können, wird auf den englischen Sprachtest verzichtet.