Important Information and Tips

Enrollment & Withdrawal from the University

The enrollment will be done automatically. We ask you to check your enrollment during the enrollment period from 15 to 30 November in the Student Portal. In the Student Portal, you can also request a change of your study program or withdrawal from the University.

Student Portal

Booking Modules

Module booking means registering for an exam. If you only want to attend the lecture in a module and do not want to take an exam, you do not have to book the module.

You can book modules online via this link: 
Module Booking Tool

Module bookings and cancellations can only be done within the applicable deadlines. 

Dates and Deadlines
Further information about booking modules

Same/Similar Modules

Students are not allowed to take equivalent or similar modules at RWF UZH and at the partner faculty, or these cannot be counted twice towards the course credits. Whether two modules are equivalent or similar is determined by their content. If equivalent or similar modules have nevertheless been completed, these ECTS credits will not be counted towards the degree and the student must complete an additional module to achieve the missing ECTS credits, even if this is not possible until the following year. It is the student's responsibility to ensure that he/she does not take equivalent or similar modules. In case of doubt, the coordinators of the home or partner faculty can be contacted.

Failed Attempts

An unsuccessful performance is considered a fail.

The compulsory module Introduction to Swiss Law, which must be completed in the study program International and Comparative Law by students with a Bachelor of Law degree from a non-Swiss university, may be repeated twice. A third failed attempt will result in a final rejection.

For the other modules, a joint maximum of eight failed attempts applies. Until the maximum number of failed attempts is reached, the core elective and elective modules can be repeated, provided that the modules are offered again or substituted with other modules. When substituting modules, care must be taken to ensure that sufficient modules of the respective module group (core elective modules Fundamentals, core elective modules International Law and core elective modules Comparative Law) are completed. If further compulsory modules (in addition to the Master's thesis) are chosen in the study program Rechtswissenschaft, they can be repeated a maximum of two times, otherwise the repeatability is only limited by the maximum number of failed attempts. A final rejection takes place if there are more than eight failed attempts.

For further information, please refer to § 5 (study program Rechtswissenschaft) or § 7 (study program International and Comparative Law Program) of the Program Regulation for the Double Degree Master's Programs of the Faculty of Law of the University of Zurich and the Foreign Partner Faculties (StudO DD RWF).

Program regulation Double Degree

Master's Theses

For each master's thesis, the document "Master's thesis agreement" has to be filled out completely.

A master's thesis that is handed in late or not handed in at all will be graded with 1 and will appear in the Transcript of Records. However, failed attempts for master's theses are not taken into account when calculating the number of permitted failed attempts.

A postponement or cancellation of the deadline for Master's theses is only possible if compelling, unforeseeable and unavoidable reasons, in particular illness, can be proven.

Further information can be found in the Fact Sheet on Assessments of the Faculty of Law.
Master's Thesis Agreement
Fact Sheet on Assessments

Application for graduation

Students in the Double Degree Program must apply for their graduation in the semester in which they wish to complete their degree program.
The electronic application form can be accessed exclusively during the deadline for submitting the application for graduation in the module booking tool (performance overview) and will be submitted electronically.

Application Deadline and Dates
Module Booking Tool

Accomodation - Alumni House

The Alumni House offers 16 rooms (of which four are double rooms) for students from our partner universities who are enrolled in Double Degree Master's programs at the Faculty of Law at UZH.

Further information on the Alumni House and the application procedure for the rooms can be found on this website:
Alumni of the Faculty of Law

If you do not get a room in the Alumni House, additional helpful tips on searching for accomodation can be found on this website:
Accommodation

Visa - Residence Permit

Please find information on residence permits and guidelines for visa application on the website for international students of the University of Zurich:

International Students - Entry and Residence

Language Center of UZH and ETH Zurich

As a student in the Double Degree Program, you can take advantage of language courses offered by the Language Center of UZH and ETH Zurich. It is advisable to find out more about the courses at an early stage.

Language Center of UZH and ETH Zurich

Financial Matters

Under the following link, you can find an overview of living and studying expenses for students at the University of Zurich (guideline):
Finance

If you have questions about financing your studies (scholarships, loans), please contact the Student Financial Aid Office:
Student Financial Aid Office

Wichtige Informationen

Semestereinschreibung & Exmatrikulation

Die Einschreibung erfolgt automatisch. Wir bitten Sie, Ihre Einschreibung während der Einschreibungsfrist vom 15. - 30. November im Studierendenportal zu prüfen. Dort können Sie auch einen Wechsel Ihres Studienprogrammes oder eine Exmatrikulation beantragen.

Studierendenportal

Modulbuchung

Modulbuchung bedeutet die Anmeldung zu einer Prüfung. Möchten Sie in einem Modul nur die Vorlesung besuchen und keine Prüfung absolvieren, müssen Sie das Modul nicht buchen.

Module können online über diesen Link gebucht werden: 
Modulbuchung

Die Modulbuchung und -stornierung kann nur innerhalb der Modulbuchungs- und Stornierungsfrist vorgenommen werden.

Termine und Fristen
Weitere Informationen zur Modulbuchung.

Gleichwertige/ähnliche Module

Studierenden ist es nicht erlaubt, an der RWF UZH und an der Partnerfakultät gleichwertige oder ähnliche Module zu absolvieren, bzw. diese können nicht doppelt an die Studienleistungen angerechnet werden. Ob zwei Module gleichwertig oder ähnlich sind, bestimmt sich nach deren Inhalt. Wenn dennoch gleichwertige oder ähnliche Module absolviert wurden, werden diese ECTS-Credits nicht an den Abschluss angerechnet und die/der Studierende muss ein zusätzliches Modul absolvieren, um die fehlenden ECTS-Credits zu erreichen, auch wenn dies erst im darauffolgenden Jahr möglich ist. Es liegt in der Verantwortung der Studierenden, sicherzustellen, dass er/sie keine gleichwertigen oder ähnlichen Module absolviert. Im Zweifelsfall können die Koordinatoren der Heim- oder Partnerfakultät kontaktiert werden.

Fehlversuche

Eine nicht erfolgreich erbrachte Leistung gilt als Fehlversuch (fail).

Das Pflichtmodul Introduction to Swiss Law, das im Studienprogramm International and Comparative Law von Studierenden mit einem Bachelor of Law einer nichtschweizerischen Universität absolviert werden muss, kann zweimal wiederholt werden. Ein dritter Fehlversuch hat eine endgültige Abweisung zur Folge.

Für die weiteren Module gilt ein gemeinsames Fehlversuchsmaximum von acht Fehlversuchen. Solange das Fehlversuchsmaximum nicht erreicht ist, sind sie, sofern sie erneut angeboten werden, wiederholbar und durch andere Module substituierbar. Bei der Substitution von Modulen ist darauf zu achten, dass ausreichend Module der jeweiligen Modulgruppe (Wahlpflichtmodule Grundlagen, Wahlpflichtmodule International Law und Wahlpflichtmodule Comparative Law) absolviert werden. Werden im Studienprogramm Rechtswissenschaft weitere Pflichtmodule (zusätzlich zur Masterarbeit) gewählt, können diese maximal zweimal wiederholt werden, ansonsten wird die Wiederholbarkeit nur durch das Fehlversuchsmaximum eingeschränkt. Eine endgültige Abweisung erfolgt bei mehr als acht Fehlversuchen.

Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie in § 5 (Studienprogramm Rechtswissenschaft) bzw. § 7 (Studienprogramm International and Comparative Law) der Studienordnung für die Double Degree Masterstudiengänge der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich und der ausländischen Partnerfakultäten (StudO DD RWF).

Studienordnung Double Degree (StudO DD RWF) (PDF, 226 KB)

Masterarbeiten

Für jede Masterarbeit muss das Dokument «Vereinbarung Masterarbeit» vollständig ausgefüllt werden.

Eine verspätet bzw. nicht abgegebene Masterarbeit wird mit der Note 1 bewertet und erscheint im Transcript of Records. Fehlversuche bei Masterarbeiten werden bei der Berechnung der Anzahl zulässiger Fehlversuche jedoch nicht berücksichtigt.

Eine Verschiebung oder Annullierung des Abgabetermins von Masterarbeiten ist nur möglich, wenn zwingende, unvorhersehbare und unabwendbare Gründe, insbesondere Erkrankung, nachgewiesen werden können.

Weitere Informationen sind im Merkblatt zu den Masterarbeiten enthalten.

Merkblatt Masterarbeiten
Vereinbarung Masterarbeit

Antrag auf Studienabschluss

Der Studienabschluss muss von Studierenden im Double Degree Programm in dem Semester beantragt werden, in welchem der Studiengang abgeschlossen werden soll. Das elektronische Antragsformular kann ausschliesslich während der Frist zur Einreichung des Antrags auf Studienabschluss im Modulbuchungstool in der Leistungsübersicht aufgerufen werden und wird elektronisch übermittelt.

Antragsfristen und Termine
Modulbuchungstool

Unterkunft - Alumni-Haus

Das Alumni-Haus bietet 16 möblierte Zimmer (davon vier Doppelzimmer) für Studierende unserer Partneruniversitäten an, welche im Rahmen der Double Degree Masterstudiengänge an der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der UZH studieren.

Weitere Informationen über das Alumni-Haus und zum Bewerbungsverfahren für die Zimmer finden Sie auf dieser Webseite:
Alumni der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Haben Sie kein Zimmer im Alumni-Haus erhalten, finden Sie weitere hilfreiche Tipps zur Zimmersuche auf dieser Webseite: 
Wohnangebote

Visum - Aufenthaltsbewilligung

Sie finden alle relevanten Informationen zum Thema Aufenthaltsbewilligung sowie einen Leitfaden für den Visumsantrag auf der Webseite für Internationale Studierende  der Universität Zürich: 

Internationale Studierende - Einreise und Aufenthalt

Sprachenzentrum der UZH und ETH Zürich

Als Studierender im Double Degree Programm können Sie Sprachkurse des Sprachenzentrums der UZH und der ETH Zürich in Anspruch nehmen. Informieren Sie sich frühzeitig über das Angebot.

Sprachenzentrum der UZH und der ETH Zürich

Finanzielles

Unter dem folgenden Link finden Sie eine Übersicht zu den zu erwartenden Studien- und Lebenskosten (Richtwert):
Finanzen

Bei Fragen zur Finanzierung Ihres Studiums (Stipendien, Darlehen) wenden Sie sich bitte an die Fachstelle Studienfinanzierung:
Fachstelle Studienfinanzierung