Navigation auf


Faculty of Law

Subject Groups and Chairs

The professorial staff of the Faculty of Law is divided into five subject groups. These coordinate the tasks they are assigned in teaching and studies, research, academic career development, and continuing education, if the chairs are not responsible for these as part of their academic autonomy.

Subject Group Chairpersons

Each subject group has a chairperson who is elected by the subject group for xy years.

Subject Group

Chairperson (as of Autumn 2023) Deputy (as of 2023)
Basic Subjects Prof. Dr. iur. Johannes Liebrecht  
Civil Law and Civil Procedure Law Prof. Dr. iur. Tanja Domej  
Trade and Business Law Prof. Dr. iur. Peter Picht Prof. Dr. iur. Alexander Kern Samuel
Criminal Law Prof. Dr. iur. Marc Thommen  
Constitutional, Administrative, and International Law Prof. Dr. iur. Oliver Diggelmann Prof. Dr. iur Helen Keller


Basic Subjects

The Basic Subjects subject group combines historical, legal philosophy, legal theory, and legal sociology questions in research and teaching to give students a perspective of these issues. It investigates and teaches the interaction of law and its social, economic, political, and cultural context. It therefore also promotes dialogue between the different dogmatic subject-related discussions from the perspective of the basic principles that are common to all disciplines. Various members of the subject group also represent the subjects civil law, public law, media law as well as church and state-church law in research and teaching.

Subject Group Members

Function (as of Autumn 2023)

Prof. Dr. José Luis Alonso  
Prof. Dr. Ulrike Babusiaux  
Prof. Dr. Johannes Liebrecht Subject Group Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ernst  
Prof. Dr. Elisabetta Fiocchi Malaspina  
Prof. Dr. Christoph Beat Graber  
Prof. Dr. Matthias Mahlmann  
Prof. Dr. Andreas Thier  

Civil Law and Civil Procedure Law

This subject group comprehensively covers the entire range of civil law and civil procedure law in research and teaching.

Subject Group Members

Function (as of Autumn 2023)

Prof. Dr. Ruth Arnet  
Prof. Dr. Yesim M. Atamer  
Prof. Dr. Samuel P. Baumgartner  
Prof. Dr. Walter Boente  
Prof. Dr. Andrea Büchler  
Prof. Dr. Alessia Dedual  
Prof. Dr. Tanja Domej Subject Group Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Lorenz Droese  
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Haas  
Prof. Dr. Helmut Heiss  
Prof. Dr. Dominique Jakob  
Prof. Dr. Leander D. Loacker  
Prof. Dr. Alice Margaria  
Prof. Dr. Margot Michel  
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Portmann  
Prof. Dr. Roger Rudolph  

Trade and Business Law

The subject group covers trade and business law in its entirety, particularly trade and company law, financial market law, competition and antitrust law, the law of intellectual property, internet and information law, and international business law. Members of the subject group pursue their research on an interdisciplinary basis both in Switzerland and abroad. The international focus of this subject group is apparent from the collaboration with foreign institutions, the results of its research published in leading national and international specialist journals, and presentations at international conferences.

Subject Group Members

Function (as of Autumn 2023)

Prof. Dr. Kern Alexander Deputy Subject Group Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Aline Darbellay  
Prof. Dr. Marco Dell'Erba  
Prof. Dr. Andreas Heinemann  
Prof. Dr. Andreas Kellerhals  
Prof. Dr. Adrian Künzler  
Prof. Dr. Julia Nicolussi  
Prof. Dr. Peter Picht Subject Group Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Rolf Sethe  
Prof. Dr. Florent Thouvenin  
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ueli Vogt  

Criminal Law

Members of this subject group carry out extensive research into the current key issues in criminal law. Particular consideration is given to the international environment. In teaching, traditional courses are supplemented by modern communication technologies. eLearning and Internet revision courses contribute to efficient study.

Subject Group Members

Function (as of Autumn 2023)

Prof. Dr. Felix Bommer  
Prof. Dr. Gian Ege  
Prof. Dr. Gunhild Godenzi  
Prof. Dr. Daniel Jositsch  
Prof. Dr. Christian Schwarzenegger  
Prof. Dr. Sarah Summers  
Prof. Dr. Brigitte Tag  
Prof. Dr. Marc Thommen Subject Group Chairperson

Constitutional, Administrative, and International Law

This subject group covers constitutional and administrative law, including tax law and public procedural law, as well as public international law and European law, with a wide range of specializations. Accordingly, members of the subject group carry out research and teach – often in collaboration with institutions abroad – on topics such as the constitutional state, democracy, human rights, social security, comparative constitutional studies, public business law, environmental law, or european institutions. As part of the faculty’s basic subjects, the subject group offers modules in the theory of legislation, constitutional history, constitutional theory, and political philosophy.

Subject Group Members

Function (as of Autumn 2023)

Prof. Dr. Tilman Altwicker  
Prof. Dr. Giovanni Biaggini  
Prof. Dr. Oliver Diggelmann Subject Group Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Thomas Gächter  
Prof. Dr. Andreas Glaser  
Prof. Dr. Alain Griffel  
Prof. Dr. Dr. Yoan Hermstrüwer  
Prof. Dr. Christine Kaufmann  
Prof. Dr. Helen Keller Deputy Subject Group Chairperson
Prof. Dr. Andreas Kley  
Prof. Dr. Lorenz Langer  
Prof. Dr. René Matteotti  
Prof. Dr. Daniel Moeckli  
Prof. Dr. Matthias Oesch  
Prof. Dr. Johannes Reich  
Prof. Dr. Madeleine Simonek  
Prof. Dr. Felix Uhlmann  
Prof. Dr. Kerstin N. Vokinger  

Weiterführende Informationen